Rays Announce Spring Training Prices

The Rays’ official site has all the details for the 2010 schedule in Port Charlotte for those that can make the games. I do have a family condo about 10 minutes down the street from the complex but with all of my fantasy baseball commitments in March for Fanball, I don’t know if I can make it. That said, I don’t know how anxious I would be to go given the pricing of the seats. When did Spring Training get so expensive?

If you want a seat with a chairback at a game and want to park on premises, that’s $25 to see a game where half the roster is made up of players that will be in the minor leagues. If I take my family of four to that game, I am paying $70 just to get in the door for the pleasure to sit outside and watch a game in the Florida sunshine. If I just wait out the calendar until April, I can take my family to a game in Tropicana Field and buy four upper deck seats and get free parking; a $36 bill to watch a major league baseball game.

I don’t mean to sound like one of these bitter old farts who long back for the old days when tickets were $1 and you could get a sodi-pop for a nickel, but prices are getting out of control for Spring Training. Before the Rays were around, I would ditch a lot of classes in March at UCF to run down to Kissimmee to catch Astros games for $6 – and that was just 15 years ago. I remember my best friend (the heckler from the earlier article) and I taking our girlfriends to a game in Lakeland where it ended up being 42 degrees and we froze our asses off – but the tickets only cost us $5 apiece.

Spring Training is a great time in both Florida and Arizona but if the organizations do not watch out, they’re going to price out the average fan with this type of pricing escalation.

About Jason Collette

Writer/Analyst
This entry was posted in news, opinion and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

