Around the Dock..

Do you have your holiday shopping done yet? My ride home tonight was longer than expected as I passed through two of the busiest shopping areas in Orlando and the traffic slowed to a Pat Burrell like crawl at times. I despise going out in person to shop for anything and after my trip to Ikea on Sunday, I don’t know if I will ever go into a store again. I got lost in there as I did the first time I went to Tropicana Field and tried to find my seat.  Speaking of The Trop, I am lucky enough to get to pay the park a visit this weekend but for football as my UCF Knight take on Rutgers in the Beef O’Brady’s St Pete Bowl (8pm ET ESPN this Saturday). It should be interesting to see the football layout with 20,000+ of my fellow UCF fans and thanks to my friend Jeff, I have great seats down the first base line.  Here are some Rays news from around the web in the past few days:

  • The All-Time Greatest (Devil) Rays Advent Calendarthis is pretty damn funny.
  • The Rays have a new assistant pitching coachand it is a familiar name to Hickey and Hunsicker from their days in Houston.
  • The Rays are interested in Jack CustI agree with RJ that this is just noise to get the Cubs’ attention. Cust is a DH that has to be platooned as he is useless against lefties and his power against righties is declining.
  • The Rays attended a throwing session to scout Kelvim Escobar – If this is a minor league deal, I am fine with it but friend and Baseball Prospectus’s injury expert Will Carroll considers Escobar this year’s Jason Isringhausen who is pretty much done as a pitcher. The only person who has spent more days on the DL than Escobar is Rocco Baldelli.
  • In case you did not get your Happy Holidays card from the Rays this year, here it is
  • Bleacher Brothers reviews the Rays Spring Training home in Port Charlotte
  • If you still need to buy a present for a Rays fan, this is a great deal. Cursed my dried up budget.
  • If you are a Rays fan and are on Twitter, add a Rays twibbon.
  • The 1,234th story concerning the  Cubs dealing  Milton Bradley to the Rays being close.

I will be posting a 2010 preview piece on Ben Zobrist, hopefully by tomorrow.

About Jason Collette

Writer/Analyst
This entry was posted in news. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Around the Dock..

  1. CharlieRay says:

    I went to see the FL Tuskers (The new AFL Football) play this off season and it was a great venue for football but I love the Trop and hope they never move. By the way I live in Auburndale 70 miles away.

  2. I’m looking forward to it, Charlie. I’ve sat down there for baseball but not sure what a low seat will be like for football as my seats are in the field boxes about 2 rows off the field in 118. Auburndale is a nice place – if I didn’t hate I-4 so much I would contemplate living there and driving to work from there every day.

Leave a Reply

