Around the Dock – March 31th

Sorry for my brief disappearance – I blame the insanity of planning for Tout Wars and the fun in New York City. I thought sites like textsfromlastnight.com were just made up stuff until spending three nights on the town with friends and colleagues this past weekend that included me waking up on the 7 train at 6:15 in the morning having no idea how long I’d been on it. I don’t know why John Rocker had a problem with that line – if I can survive it, certainly anyone can. ¬†Opening day is only five days away!

  • Speaking of opening day, thousands of tickets still remain for the game. And you wonder why most of baseball laughs at this fanbase! C’mon people, I already have my ticket in hand. I was there last year when the banners went up and we drilled the Yankees 15-5 and will be sitting in section 300 row J for the contest on Tuesday. In fact, I plan on taking the entire day off and making the two-hour trek over as soon as I drop my kids off at school so I can plant my butt on a stool at Ferg’s and watch the early games before making it inside the Trop to watch the team win game #1. If you haven’t gotten your ticket yet, I suggest you do the same.
  • R.J. Anderson breaks down James Shields for fantasy baseball players. The Bloomberg software tools look pretty sweet but the writing team managed by Jonah Keri and led by great guys like R.J., Tommy Rancel, Erik Hahmann, and Eno Sarris is solid too.
  • Marc Topkin to host a live chat on Friday. If you have any questions you’d like to ask the beat writer for the St. Pete Times, there is your chance. Just do not ask about Jason Bartlett or he may never stop typing.
  • Sean Rodriguez gets more love, this time from Dave Scheiber. Now that Joyce is very likely to start the season on the disabled list, Rodriguez is likely an opening day starter. How long he holds that role is up to him but he is certainly starting to get more press these days.
  • but doesn’t get love from Paul Bourdett. We had this discussion in New York City over the weekend amongst his many efforts to buy me a drink as I recovered from a nasty case of bad food in Chinatown.
  • The Rays are paying their top three starters less than any other team in baseball. Talk about getting the most bang for your buck!
  • Is there anything Evan Longoria is not good at? Apparently, no. It should be very interesting to see how he handles being the official face of the franchise in 2010 given the national attention from the MLB 2K10 game ads and such.
  • Sports Illustrated has picked a 2008 rematch between the Phillies and the Rays with the same result. Will the Rays be cursed by SI or did SI forget the Rays were one of the few clubs that actually had success against Roy Halladay in recent years?
About Jason Collette

Writer/Analyst
This entry was posted in news. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Around the Dock – March 31th

  1. Paul says:

    Thanks for the link!

Leave a Reply

