Wade Davis is the Nightman

NIGHT MANNight man,
Sneaky and mean
Spider inside my dreams
I think I love you
You make me wanna cry, you make me wanna die
I love you, I love you , I love you , I love you, I love you.
Night Man
Every night you come into my room and pin me down with your strong arms
You pin me down down and I try to fight you
you come inside me and fill me up…

Just two men sharing the night
It might seem wrong but it’s just right
It’s just two men sharing each other
It’s just two men like loving brothers
One on top, and one on bottom
One inside, and one is out
One is screaming he’s so happy
The other’s screaming a passionate shout
It’s the Night Man
The feeling so wrong it’s right man
the feeling so wrong…
I can’t fight you man when you come inside me and pin me down your strong hands and I’ll become the Night….the passionate, passionate Night Man.

They took you Night Man
and you don’t belong to them
They left me in a world of darkness
without your sexy hands
and I miss you Night Man
so bad.

From the above song, we can tell that the Nightman does not like to fight during the day time.  He clearly is in his element when it is dark outside, when mischief comes out to play, and those that are good have long since retired for the evening.  Wade Davis took the bump today and started off miserably, because even in a dome, he knows that it was a noon start.  His velocity was down for the most part as shown by Brooksbaseball here.  You’ll notice that his average velocity on the four-seamer was 89.4, well below his season average of 91.9.  The first, and natural, reaction is to think that perhaps he was hurt.  My hypothesis is that as a rookie, he’s used to his normal gameday regimen that comes with throwing at night and that is the reason for his lower fastball velocity today, as well as, other day games.  TO THE DATA!

Click to enlarge the above image!

This chart looks at his four-seamer velocity by pitch number depending on what time of the day he started.  For the purposes of this look, I’ve lumped Noon & 1:00 starts in as Noon (143 pitches), 3:00 & 4:00 starts as Afternoon (130 pitches), 7:00 & 8:00 starts as Night (694 pitches).  You can clearly see that in Noon and Afternoon games he gets off to a much slower start that really continues throughout the entirety of the game.  My recommendation: Get a good night’s sleep and start that routine earlier than he has thus far for daytime starts.  Perhaps one day the Nightman will morph into just The Man.

For more on the Nightman click HERE

About Jason Hanselman

Rays fan.
This entry was posted in players and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

