News and Notes (9/4)

I apologize for the article format but I am currently laid up with a severe case of tonsillitis and barely have the energy to get out of bed. I had to make the trip to Dallas yesterday to work the National Fantasy Football Championship event today so I have been conserving whatever energy I do have to run that since I am the only person at this particular venue.  Here are some thoughts over some of the events this week:

  • A Friday night win!  That’s 2-15 in the last 17 Friday night games
  • It was great to see Matt Garza put his money where his mouth was. He mouthed off in the paper he was going to shove the ball down the Orioles’ throats last night after the way they hit him around the last time and he did exactly that. It did not sit well with Luke Scott who even quoted scripture in his retort to Garza but I have a verse for Scott. Garza 25:17 reads “You will know my name is Matt Garza when I lay my fastball upon thee.”  That said, I still want Luke Scott on this team as soon as possible.
  • Since Garza threw his no-hitter, he has gone just 3-3, but with a 1.87 ERA with a 2.8 strikeout to walk ratio. Since that aforementioned beatdown the Orioles gave him, Garza has been one of the best pitchers in the American League.
  • Congratulations on Joe Maddon becoming a .500 manager for the first time since he was 8-8 after the first 16 games of his career.
  • Say what you want about the home attendance, but the results show the players do not care. The Rays are 152-78 in their 230 home games since the start of the 2008 season. When less than 20,000 fans show up, the Rays are 67-34 (.663) but when more than 20,000 show up, they are 85-44 (.659). You can write off the .004 difference to the quality of the opponent but the good news is the Rays have had 129 games of at least 20,000 fans since 2008 compared to 101 games of less than 20,000.
  • I have long said if there was a light-rail train from Disney to Tropicana Field, I would become a season ticket holder. Thus, this news story interests me. That said, I think it is overly optimistic. The first thing on people’s minds at Disney after a day at the park is a nice shower, not running off to a baseball game. I think the project would draw greater interest from the citizens in Orlando than it would the people attending Disney.
  • While there are not 32 teams in major league baseball, this article echoes what I have been screaming for months. If the Rays gave me the keys to the marketing kingdom for a day, I would set up a three-tiered pricing structure for 2011. This would eliminate some of the confusion when it comes to the current pricing model and not discourage some fans, like myself, from attending certain games.
    • Tier I: 100% of current ticket prices
    • Tier II: 125% of current ticket prices for Yankees and Red Sox games
    • Tier III: 150% of current ticket prices for all concert series games
  • I would not consider anyone who skipped the expensive games any less of a fan than those who choose to attend. I have purchased two tickets, in 101 and 104 for mid-week games against the Padres and the Blue Jays for less than it would have cost me to get one of those seats for a game against Boston or New York. For me, it is about getting to as many Rays games as possible living 125 miles away from the stadium. I never choose the game for the opponent, I choose it to see the Rays. If I am presented with five different prices to see the team I want to play, I am always going to choose the lowest price possible because I can see more games, for less. In an area with a higher than average unemployment rate, that should ring true for many others as well.
  • The Rays went 4-2 on a homestand in which they faced Jon Lester, John Lackey, Clay Buchholz, Ricky Romero, Brett Cecil, and Shaun Marcum. Add CC Sabathia and Brandon Morrow to that list and you have the best non-Rays pitchers in the division. The offense struggled during the homestand for a reason – that is one damn fine collection of pitchers!
  • The Rays should not trade Reid Brignac to the Orioles, ever. He is hitting .481 in that park for his career after another good night at the plate there last night. When he is slumping, a trip to Camden Yards seems to do the trick for him every time. For his career, he is not hitting above .250 anywhere else he has at least ten plate appearances. This is all a small sample size, but I still find that pretty amazing.
About Jason Collette

Writer/Analyst
This entry was posted in recap and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to News and Notes (9/4)

  1. Gatorbuc15 says:

    Good post Jason. Hope you get well soon man. 🙂

    It’s nice that Rays actually got a win on a Friday! Let’s do it again some time!

Leave a Reply

