Story on Rays' Venezuelan Academy

Neat story I found on YouTube today while researching the Alex Torres story.

About Jason Collette

Writer/Analyst
This entry was posted in prospects and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Story on Rays' Venezuelan Academy

  1. Bob R. says:

    I would love to find some information about how things are going in the Brazilian academy. I think the Rays are the only team with a presence there.

  2. I will see what I can find out.

  3. It might take a few weeks – running into some roadblocks so far.

  4. I did find this – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nu3xZvDFnZc&feature=player_embedded#!

    I also found someone who runs a site that specializes in baseball in Latin America so I have reached out to him for some information.

  5. Bob R. says:

    Thanks Jason. I will get my wife to translate for me. I think the Brazilian academy is for very young kids; there was one Brazilian player in one of the Rays Caribbean leagues, I think Venezuela, this past summer. From what I could tell, he did not play much or have much success.

    Never mind. Here he is, Wester Ramos, CF.

    http://web.minorleaguebaseball.com/milb/stats/stats.jsp?pos=CF&sid=milb&t=p_pbp&pid=576169

  6. Update

    “My apologies in getting back to you so late and thanks for the email. I have not seen any updates recently specifically on players at the Rays school in Marilia. I have copied someone on this email, who runs the Piritituba Warriors baseball/softball club in Sao Paulo, as he previously mentioned to me that he knows the operator of the school. Perhaps he can provide you better information and he writes/speak in English as well.”

  7. Great stuff Jason. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

