“OldMan Dietrich” Finally in The Show

As many of you who have followed me on twitter or conversed with me on various Rays web sites know, my love for 2010 second round pick Derek Dietrich was clearly out in the open. In a surprising move this past week my dream of him getting to the show was realized, although somewhat sadly in that he’s wearing the uniform of our in state rivals, Miami Marlins.

My attention tfor Dietrich stemmed from the fact he was was not only  from the Greater Cleveland area as I am but more specifically Parma, which was in my backyard and where my wife was raised. Derek was also a prep star at the renowned St. Ignatius High school well known for academic and sports excellence.

When I would comment on his achievements in the local Rays site DRaysBay I was constantly told his numbers were good because of his age and league he played in. By the way Dietrich is 23 years old as we speak, old cuss. The real hitting prospect was the great Mikie Mahtook. I mean for God’s sake Mahtook is 3 months younger and playing in the same league.

Now let’s fast forward to May 2013, Mikie Mahtook is playing for the Montgomery Biscuits of the AA Southern League and is batting .237. Last night after his debut on Thursday in which he lined a single to right on the first MLB pitch he saw, Dietrich smashed a three run bomb for the Marlins. By the way this is not intended to make comparisons of the two players, just to lash out at those who question 20-22 year olds as being “too old”.

Congrats Derek. Make this former Clevelander proud and continue to mash.

As always Go Rays

About sternfan1

Passionate Rays fan
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

